Military Covenant.jpg
Mapleton signs Military Covenant.jpg

Community Military Covenant

The City of Mapleton held our Covenant July 29, 2009.

Those in attendance and signing were: Mayor Mark Anderson, Council members Carlita Dietz, Larry Dell, & Gordy Pederson. Also in attendance and signing were the Community Military Committee members: Judy Pederson, Cheryl Saari, Rita Schmit (Forestry & Park District), Chair Gary Ripplinger (active - who has served 2 times in Iraq). Doug Saari (water superintendent) Mary Hinschberger (auditor - not signing - ran out of room on page). John Lowe (Vietnam Vet) Preston Nygaard (active) Jason Saari (active) Mike Fenner (active). Not in attendance and signing Jeff Hanson (Park Dist. President). Amanda (Cass County Reporter and photographer)

The document was mailed to NDLC today.

This has prompted a dedicated memorial for the City of Mapleton on a concrete slab on the side of County Hwy 11 (which is the main road in the city), that has been empty since 1997. The Community Military Committee listed above, headed by Gary Ripplinger has made a brochure reflecting three phases of the project. (1) Flagpoles, flags, lighting (2) placing of a Howitzer, (3) Granite Memorial (recognizing the all five branches of the military). Which is planned to be completed in 2-3 years. Hope is that donations will cover the majority of the costs.